let’s give it another whirl!

introducing-the-classics-club

Classics Clubbers are going for another spin and I’m super excited cause the first Classics Spin was a lot of fun :).  I can’t wait for next Monday to see what book I end up with.  I don’t own many of the titles on my CC List so this is a great excuse to buy a new book (or two ^.^).

Same rules apply.  You can check out the original post here for more details.

SPIN LIST 2

5 Re-Reads

1. Little Women//L.M. Alcott
2. Betsy-Tacy and Tib//Maud Hart Lovelace
3. Anne of Avonlea//Lucy Maud Montgomery
4. An Old Fashioned Girl//L.M. Alcott
5. Little House in the Big Woods//Laura Ingalls Wilder

5 Titles I’ve Seen On Screen But Haven’t Read in Print

6. The Great Gatsby//F. Scott Fitzgerald
7. North & South//Elizabeth Gaskell
8. Moby Dick//Herman Melville
9. Of Mice and Men//John Steinbeck
10. The Count of Monte Cristo//Alexandre Dumas

5 New Titles I’m Excited to Explore!

11. The Jungle//Upton Sinclair
12. Silas Marner//George Eliot
13. The Beautiful and the Damned//F. Scott Fitzgerald
14. An American Tragedy//Theodore Dreiser
15. Invisible Man//Ralph Ellison

5 Titles I’ve Listened to On Audio But Haven’t Read in Print

16. Pride and Prejudice//Jane Austen
17. Northanger Abbey//Jane Austen
18. Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm//Kate Douglas Wiggin
19. What Katy Did//Susan Coolidge
20. Jane Eyre//Charlotte Bronte

8 thoughts on “let’s give it another whirl!

    • Little Women is my favorite classic :) I’ll have to read your review when I get a chance! I’m looking forward to Gatsby. I watched the movie years ago and I’m eager to compare the book and film.

  1. Your “on screen” 5 are all must reads! The Great Gatsby and Moby-Dick are both genius works, though most would say not the easiest reads (Moby-Dick is tedious but worth it).

    I love to see An American Tragedy on so many lists, too – Dreiser is underated, in my opinion. I loved Sister Carrie (read it twice), but haven’t read American Tragedy, yet.

    I love your audio list, too. Pride and Prejudice is possibly the best novel ever written. Northanger Abbey is my favorite Austen… and Jane Eyre. LOVE. :) Good luck with the Spin! You’ve got great reading ahead of you, no matter what.

    • Good to know about Dreiser!! I know that Gatsby and Moby-Dick are must reads so I’m looking forward to them.

      I’d love to read Austen but if neither get chosen, that’s okay, August is coming up! :) I know, I love Jane Eyre. It’s actually one of my go-to audiobooks if I just want something to listen to but don’t want to pay close attention to anything new.

      Thanks!! :D I think so too!!

  2. You have such goodies on your list! Especially the titles you’ve seen on screen :) You’ll be so happy with Gatsby if that is picked. I hope we get a great number. Good luck with the spin!

  3. Pingback: Classic’s Spin 2 | Several, Four, Many

  4. Some of your books are bringing back childhood memories! I remember reading Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm, Little House, and Anne of Avonlea as a child. Good luck!

Leave a Comment