let’s spin, shall we?

introducing-the-classics-clubThe Classics Club is hosting a Classics Spin!  Quite an interesting game really :)  I am to make a list of 20 books from the remaining books on my CC list. On February 18, a number will be randomly chosen and I have until April 1st to finish the book with that corresponding number!  As an added twist, I can organize my Spin List into different categories. For example:

  • 5 books you are dreading/hesitant to read,
  • 5 books you can’t WAIT to read,
  • 5 books you are neutral about,
  • 5 free choice

Should be fun!!

MY SPIN LIST

5 Re-Reads

1. Little Women//L.M. Alcott
2. Anne of Green Gables//L.M. Montgomery
3. Jane Eyre//Charlotte Bronte
4. Stuart Little//E.B. White
5. What Katy Did//Susan Coolidge

5 Titles I’m Dreading

6. Robinson Crusoe//Daniel Defoe
7. The Grapes of Wrath//John Steinbeck
8. Moby Dick//Herman Melville
9 Don Quioxote//Miguel de Cervantes
10. Crime and Punishment//Fyodor Dostoyevsky

5 New Titles I’m Excited to Explore!

11. The Jungle//Upton Sinclair
12. I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings//Maya Angelou
13. The Pilgrim’s Progress//John Bunyan
14. The Narrative of Fredrick Douglass/Fredrick Douglass
15. Invisible Man//Ralph Ellison

5 Titles I Know Very Little About

16. The Warden//Anthony Trollope
17. Pygmalion//George Bernard Shaw
18. For Whom the Bell Tolls//Ernest Hemingway
19. Madame Bovary//Gustave Flaubert
20. Portrait of a Lady//Henry James

13 thoughts on “let’s spin, shall we?

    • I’ve been wanting to read it for awhile! Even if #14 doesn’t win, it’s on my TBR list so I’ll get to it sometime this year! I’m hoping for any number between 11 and 20!! :)

  1. The Warden is good, it’s a great introduction to Trollope. It starts out a little slow but it sets up the action for Barchester Towers, which is GREAT. Trollope’s wonderful, have you read any of his other books yet?

    And I loved Madame Bovary. She’s a complete train wreck, yet I couldn’t stop reading.

  2. Ow, why dread “Grapes of Wrath”? I found it so brilliant :) As for the rest under the “dreading”, yeah, I would dread those too. Most of your re-reads seem real comfort-read kind of books (always a good thing) and I also found the life of Emma B from “Madame Bovary” not dull to observe at all.

    Good luck!

    • I guess it’s because I wasn’t a fan of the movie. It’ll be a pleasant surprise if I end up liking the book, but I’m open! I’m just not in the mood to read it anytime soon lol. I’m curious about Madame Bovary! I wouldn’t mind reading it! Thanks :)

  3. Pingback: the wheel has spun! | unscripted

  4. Pingback: let’s give it another whirl! | unscripted

  5. Pingback: classics club spin #3 | unscripted

Leave a Comment

