gone with the wind//classics club

September beings tomorrow!! And although I know fall doesn’t officially begin until the 22nd, the end of August spells the end of summer for me.  I’m already itching to get out my fall & winter clothing.  I know I’m beginning to sound like a broken record but I’m longing for crisp breezes, scarves, and cute boots!!

In the meantime, Austen in August is over today :(.  I mentioned when I reviewed Persuasion, I had hopes to finish two titles this month but it didn’t quite work out that way!  Now, I’m setting Austen aside and picking up Margaret Mitchell’s Gone With the Wind.  Classics Clubber of August, Fanda over at Fanda ClassicLit is hosting a Gone with the Wind Read Along that will begin on September 1st and end on November 7th.  I’ve never read the book and still haven’t seen the movie so besides a Civil War time story, I don’t really know what to expect from this epic classic.

I have this beautiful Scribner paperback edition.  It’s a thick 959-page read!!  I almost fell over when it arrived in the mail! Am I going to finish it in time??  We shall find out!  This is actually perfect timing since I’m study the Civil War and Reconstruction.  This is an intriguing period of America’s history and I’m looking forward to reading this book :).

8 thoughts on “gone with the wind//classics club

  1. It’s about a perfect timing then…good luck with your studying!
    You have a lovely edition of GWTW, mine is 1400s pages but it came in small pocketbook, not comfortable for cozy reading (I realized now :P), but I hope the story is interesting enough to make me stuck on the book…for 2 whole months! :)

  2. Yes it’s perfect, thank you!! My edition is lovely but it is a bit big to lug around :P. Oh well, small or big, I’m sure we’ll both enjoy it :) Thanks for hosting the event!!

    • Hi Elyssa, just stopping by to check your progress. I am in Part 3 now, it’s not enjoyable at the start (I’m annoyed with selfish and spoiled Scarlett), but Part 3 have been much better now that I begin to enjoy it. What about you? :)

      • Hey there! I’m a bit slow right now =P I’m still only in Part 1. Lol yeah Scarlett is getting on my nerves too. But so far so good :). Thanks for stopping by!

  3. I read Gone with the Wind for the first time when I was 13. My grandpa’s sister is a GwtW fanatic and I don’t remember the first time I saw the movie as I grew up watching it. I had wanted to read the book before I turned 13 but my family didn’t feel I was mature enough to appreciate it before then. In a way seeing the movie before reading the book was a good thing as the books length can be a bit daunting so you might want to watch the movie as well. I read the book every few years as I love it, but I don’t want to read it so often it loses the magic. I hope you enjoy it.

  4. No!! Read the book first! The movie is excellent, but the book is so much better. Let Margaret Mitchell tell the story before you turn to Hollywood. :) It is a long book, but believe me, it flies by. You’ll wish for more by the end. Well, if you are anything like me. It’s on my club list to re-read for a fourth time. :)

Leave a Comment