praying for your future husband | book review

Hello Everyone!

As I said in my last post, I have several books on relationships, singleness and purity to review so I’m just going to pick it up with the next title I want to share with you.

10401427Praying for Your Future Husband by Robin Jones Gunn and Tricia Goyer 

Rating: 3.5 – 4.0

My Thoughts:  When we were in junior high and high school, my best friend and I read Robin Jones Gunn’s Christy Miller Series.  Not only were we captivated by the story, we were introduced to the intriguing notion of writing letters to your future husband.  A decade later, and I’m happy to say I’ve got a growing collection of letters of my own.  So when I saw this book, it didn’t surprise me at all that Gunn co-wrote a book on this subject.  I knew I had to read it and I’m so glad I did!

He’s not someone you really think about.  Your future husband, I’m mean. Yeah, you might dream of him, think about all the qualities you want him to have, all the characteristics that would make you tick if he possessed them.  You dream about how great life is going to be when you’re finally part of a couple.  And you know that looks shouldn’t matter but you pray that God would please give you someone you’re attracted to! These are all natural, of course, but when we’re single, we still don’t think about our future husbands as living breathing human beings who walk around working, playing, learning, struggling, laughing, and crying just like we are!  But he most certainly is.  Think about it, if marriage is in God’s plan for you, then your future mate is out there somewhere in the world.  Some minds have just been blown.  Or maybe you’re thinking, well, duh!  Okay, so what are you going to do about this piece of information?  Gunn and Goyer encourage us to pray for him.  Right now.  Even if you’ve still yet to meet him.

Proverbs 31 contains the beautiful Virtuous Woman passage and one of the things you find out about this wonderful lady is that she does her husband good and not evil all the days of her life (verse 12).  All the days of her life would include the days before she meets him, yeah?  Now that verse alone contains so much I could unpack but that’s a post for another time – staying on topic!  If being a virtuous woman means doing your husband good all the days of your life then why not pray for him?  I’ve come to the conclusion that it is, indeed, a beautiful thing!

The authors walk readers through different areas of life in which to pray for both your future husband and yourself.  They share personal accounts of their struggles and victories in their own love stories and offer advice and counsel on how to handle different life situations.  There are even discussion questions and places to journal throughout the chapters.

I personally found it a bit of a light read which is why I didn’t give it a 4.0 rating.  I felt like they could have gone a tad deeper in places.  But that doesn’t deter me from highly recommending this book to any single gal who wants to enhance her present single life in faith while holding on to sweet dreams of the future!

Happy reading!

Elyssa

6 thoughts on “praying for your future husband | book review

  1. I love all the posts you have on future husbands and all that. I was just wondering if you have ever heard of Jason Evert – he is a Christian chastity speaker who (along with his wife) travel the country talking to teenagers. (My mind was first blown by the future husband concept at one of his talks.) He and his wife co-wrote a book called “How to Find Your Soulmate without Losing Your Soul” which is very excellent. I strongly advise you to check Jason Evert out. He has a website too, but I’m not sure what it is…

  2. Oh! That’s a nice way of doing it. Usually when one hears of praying for one’s future spouse we tend to think in terms of what we get. This is a really thoughtful way of going about the whole thing…a family prayer of sorts even before you meet and become a family. :)

  3. Good for you, praying for your spouse. I am going to add this title to my wish list for my teenage daughters.

    As a mother, I have often prayed for my kids’ spouses, too. Right now I am reading Before You Meet Prince Charming by Sarah Mally with my girls, which addresses waiting, future husbands, and purity.

Leave a Comment

