when God writes your life story | book review

223366When God Writes Your Life Story by Eric & Leslie Ludy

Ratings: 4.0 – 4.0

My Thoughts:

Oh my goodness I looooooooooooooved this book!  I mean, I’ve loved every book I’ve read by the Ludy’s but this was absolutely FABULOUS!!  And in the light of starting my new job and facing my last year of undergrad study, it was perfect timing.

Just as they always do, Eric and Leslie encourage counter-cultural, God glorifying, holiness-pursuing Christianity that defies all things ordinary and mediocre – and I love that!!  In this book they talk about Christians in the past who gave up all for Christ and in return, Jesus scripted extraordinarily adventurous lives for them.  While this often meant suffering and trials and struggles, it also meant peace and assurance that God’s hand was working in their lives and that their ministry was impacting others for the kingdom of heaven.

This is the stuff of Christianity.  And we so easily forget that it can be that way in our lives as well.  The adventure, the miracles, and the victories aren’t to be left in the past but continued into the present because God doesn’t change, the world’s need for Him hasn’t changed, and His commission for His followers has not changed.  God’s dreams for us are big and wonderful and, a lot of times, seemingly impractical or impossible. He calls us to live passionate, sold-out, abundant lives for His glory and for the benefit of those around us no matter the cost.

So what happened to our little-kid passion for achieving the impossible? When did we stop shooting for impossible goals and start aiming for realistic targets instead? As little kids, we dream of a bigger-than-life existence. But eventually we grow up. We lose our “oomph” to keep aiming high. We settle for everyday mediocrity. We stop trying to be heroic and finally accept being average.

As we grow up, the worlds tells us that aiming our lives at the impossible only leads to disappointment. Somewhere along the way, we are persuaded to loosen our grip on our dreams and pitch our tents in the land where everyday humans dwell.

If you’re feeling like your Christian walk is missing something, READ THIS BOOK!!

If you’re feeling comfortable in your Christian walk, READ THIS BOOK!!

If you profess to be a Christian at all, READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!

It was amazing and awesome and inspirational and honest and real and deep and I loved it so much!

Happy reading, y’all :)

3 thoughts on “when God writes your life story | book review

  1. Hi. Doing my once-a-week reading lots of different blogs. This looks like a good book. Wish I weren’t so far behind in my reading but will definitely keep this one in mind. God bless.

    • I’m behind on my list as well but what I failed to mention in my review is that I finished this one in less than 24 hours – it was that good!! So yes, definitely keep this book in mind, you won’t regret it!! :) God bless you too!

  2. Pingback: 15 Book Blogger Challenge | Days 9, 10, & 11 | unscripted

Leave a Comment

