lies women believe | book review

lieswomenbelieve

Lies Women Believe and the Truth That Sets Them Free by Nancy Leigh DeMoss

Rating: 4.0 – 4.0

My Thoughts:

I love this book!  I borrowed it from the library and read it and now I want to get a copy for my own personal library.  I was amused by the negative reviews on Goodreads and Amazon.  So many women found DeMoss too legalistic or conservative or uptight and unreasonable.  It’s true her position on many things is counter-cultural and even counter-Christian cultural but I believe her positions are biblical and, therefore, wise.

I didn’t really learn anything new but rather had some things confirmed or backed up.  I appreciate her honesty and warmth and assurance that God is in control and that He is deeply interested in the things that are important to women – our emotions, our struggles, our personalities, and our passions.  He created us with specific desires and gifts and dreams and has specific roles and responsibilities for us to carry out.  And we live in a world that is telling us different.  We live in a culture that totally disagrees and sells us a pack of lies about us, about God, and about His plan for our lives.  This is what DeMoss addresses in her book and I think she did it beautifully.

I totally recommend it and I encourage you to approach it with an open mind and prayerful heart and then share it with your girlfriends!

Happy reading, y’all :)

Leave a Comment

