The Pilgrim’s Progress Final Check-In

Hello Readers!

Today is the final day of our journey through Pilgrim’s Progress!! YAY!!!  I will be perfectly honest with you, I didn’t think I was going to make it through those last two sections of this book!  But I did and I’m soooo glad to be done with hosting my first reading event, you have no idea! :D

As I mentioned in the last check-in, I was kind of weary and wondering why Bunyan chose to continue the book with Christiana’s pilgrimage after all.  After wading through the last 100 pages, my sentiments stayed about the same.  Much of the conversation had to do with recalling what happened to Christian on his journey and revisiting the places he had been.  To be sure, Christiana, Mercy and the boys met some interesting characters (I really liked Great-heart, Mr. Steadfast, and Mr. Valiant-for-Truth).  I suppose I caught a case of you-could-have-said-that-in-half-those-words-why-drag-it-out-itis.  When I take the time to read Part 2 again, sometime in the future, I’m sure I’ll be able to grasp the depth that Bunyan was trying to convey but I was too anxious to be done with the book to get much out of it this time around.  So you can imagine my delight when letters were being delivered from the Celestial City, telling Pilgrims that their journeys were over and the King was inviting them to their eternal reward.  Whoot!  You made it!  Finally!

I did love Mr. Steadfast’s final words as he’s leaving for the Kingdom:

I see myself now at the end of my Journey; my toilsome days are ended. I am going now to see that Head that was crowned with thorns, and that Face that was spit upon for me.

I have formerly lived by hear-say and Faith; but now I go where I shall live by Sight, and shall be with him in whose company I delight myself.

I have loved to hear my Lord spoken of; and where-ever I have seen the print of his shoe in the earth, there I have coveted to set my foot too.

His Name has been to me as a civet box; yea, sweeter than all perfumes. His Voice to me has been most sweet; and his Countenance I have more desired than they that have most desired the light of the Sun. His Word I did use to gather for my food, and for antidotes against my faintings. He has held me, and I have kept me from mine iniquities; yea, my steps hath he strengthened in his Way.

Beeeeeautiful!!!

What about you, my dear readers?  How have you made out?  Were you able to finish the book?  Have you already written your reviews?  What are your thoughts about Part 2?  Leave your comments below!

I know my notes were rather anti-climactic, but I can’t help but be honest :P.

I’ll be posting my overall book review over the weekend. Stay tuned!

Have a great weekend, y’all!

2 thoughts on “The Pilgrim’s Progress Final Check-In

  1. I’m not quite….reading this post all the way through yet! I am 94% done with the book and will probably finish today or tomorrow and will then post my final thoughts ditty on my blog. But having read a snippet of your first few sentences, I take it you thought the last half of the book was unnecessary like I did, in which case, I high five you. :)

  2. Pingback: the pilgrim’s progress review | unscripted

Leave a Comment

