the brothers karamazov review

My first ever Dostoyevsky!  So glad I finally got to this book and so glad it was an audiobook :).

4938

The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoyevsky

Rating: 4.0 – 4.0

My Thoughts:

Let me just say that my mind was blown.  This book is like a roller coaster ride.  Sometimes it’s hard to catch your breath and process what just happened and other times it’s like the interminably long ascent to the top before the plunge back into action.  I would not have gotten through this book quite as painlessly if I had read the hard copy; narrator, Simon Vance, did a fantastic job carrying the seemingly endless monologues that took up about 40% of the book!

Four brothers, four stories, four philosophies on life, God, and Russia.  Oh, and a father who can’t ever get his act together.  Are all the Karamazov men as shiftless and corrupt as their immoral father?  What happens when their lives collide and get tangled up? That’s the story of the brothers Karamazov.

Well, part of it.  Then you add the priests, the women and stone-throwing boys in the street.

It’s quite a ride and so worth the read (or, in my case, the listen).

I REALLY liked this book!  I’m planning on getting the hard copy and going through it again sometime.

Soooo, if you’re a bit nervous about reading this book, get the audio version.

I’m looking forward to reading more by Dostoyevsky!

Leave a Comment

