may meme//classics club

monthly meme button

Tell us about the classic book(s) you’re reading this month. You can post about what you’re looking forward to reading in May, or post thoughts-in-progress on your current read(s).

. . .

I’m reading Les Miserables.  Well, I’m supposed to be anyway.  It is going reeeeeeal slow.  So I’ve been reading Maud Hart Lovelace’s Betsy-Tacy books.  I’ve already made it through Betsy-Tacy and Tib and Betsy and Tacy Go Over Big Hill this month.  And I’ve loved every page!  It has been a laugh-out-loud experience because those stories are so sweet and so simple and so precious and so funny!  Children are hilarious sometimes, they really are and reading about how they play and communicate with each other has been a great de-stressor for me the past few weeks.  I will probably be reading and finishing Betsy and Tacy Go Downtown sometime in the next couple of weeks.

I’m also reading The Great Gatsby.  And of course, since I’ve already seen the 1974 movie version, I see Sam Waterston in my mind’s eye as Nick Carraway is telling the story.  It’s kind of nice to have a ready-made voice in my head as I’m reading.

…voice in my head. Makes me sound a bit like a crazy person.  But you know what I mean ;).

In the meantime whatever hook Les Mis possesses hasn’t quite got me yet and I’m anxious for it because I’ve promised myself not to watch the new movie until I finish the book.  I know, I know, ugh!  But I shall press on!      

Y’all stay blessed :)

2 thoughts on “may meme//classics club

  1. 1. Les Mis is slow going. No way around it. I have taken a mid-book sabbatical and hope to pick it up later this year.
    2. I remember enjoying the Betsy-Tacy books when I was a kid. Maybe it’s time to revisit them–you talk about them often!
    3. I enjoyed The Great Gatsby but then again, I like Fitzgerald’s work in the first place, even if it is depressing. There’s something about early 20th-century writing that I really enjoy.
    4. I TOO made the same promise to myself about waiting to see the movie until I’ve read the book! Looks like I won’t be seeing it anytime soon. :P

    Have a great week, Elyssa! Hope you are well.

    • My week is going fabulously so far! Hope you’re doing well :)

      Yes, revisit Betsy-Tacy. Have you read them to your girls? Maybe they’d enjoy them!

Leave a Comment

