the power of a praying woman//book review

The Power Of A Praying Woman - Omartian, StormieYou know that feeling you get when you finish a book and know that it belongs in your library for keeps?  Stormie Omartian’s Power of a Praying Woman was one of those books for me.  I didn’t want to return it to the library when it was due!!

Growing up in a great Christian home, I learned to pray and talk to God at an early age.  However, so often I’ve taken prayer and the potential power it can have in my life for granted.  God is so wonderful and powerful and He longs to move and work in our lives if only we’d ask.  Omartian addresses topics like forgiveness, obedience, worship, purpose and relationships, so many of the aspects of life that, as a woman, I count important but often forget to seriously and sincerely pray about.  While I keep a journal where I write out my thoughts and musings to the Lord, I didn’t realize how superficial my prayer life really is.  I was reminded that, like with any relationship, communication is key to healthy development.  So just like I can spend hours on end talking with my best friend, I should take time to communicate with my Heavenly Father, to seek after His heart and get to know Him better and better.  He’s always there to listen, to counsel, to console, to celebrate with, to solve problems, to give, to bless, to forgive.  All we have to do is sit at His feet and talk to Him!  *happy sigh*

“We will never be happy until we make God the source of our fulfillment and the answer to our longings. He is the only one who should have power over our souls.”

This definitely deserves a reread!  It’s on my list of books to buy and add to my shelf.  Deep and encouraging, it’s a great stepping stone to cultivating a beautiful prayer life!  I highly recommend it!!!

2 thoughts on “the power of a praying woman//book review

  1. Glorry 2 da lord! He is great he has saved me,protected me and Guided me da list is endless.how does one live without him I love the holy spirit Jesus Christ.

Leave a Comment

