The Pilgrim’s Progress Reading Event Announcement

I’m taking the plunge!  I’ve decided to host my first classics reading event!!  In July, I’m going to be reading John Bunyan’s timeless classic, The Pilgrim’s Progress and I’d love to have you join me :).

PilgrimsButtonBIG

I have wanted to read this book for years and while putting my TBR list together, I knew I had to include it. Over at the Classic’s Club, they’re giving the month of July over to the ancient classics and I figured this book was an old enough piece of great literature, yeah?

Signing Up:

This read along is open to anyone who’d like to participate.  You can sign up simply by leaving a comment on the SIGN UP PAGE.  If you have a blog and write an INTRODUCTORY POST for the read along, you can leave the URL as well. You may sign up even after the read along has begun as long as you finish the book by August 9th.

The Book:

There are several versions of this well-loved classic.  I plan on purchasing the Oxford World’s Classics paperback version from Amazon.  You, of course, may use whatever version you’d like! It’s also free for Kindle :).

51hfd45B05L

Reading Schedule:

The book has 2 parts and we’ll have 3 weeks to finish each one:

July 1-20: Part 1

July 21-Aug 9: Part 2

Updates and Reviews:

Since the month of July begins on a Monday, I’m planning on posting weekly updates each Monday.  Feel free to join in the discussions and express your thoughts!  You can also write update posts on your blog.  Just remember to post the link in the comments!

I’ll also be reviewing both parts 1 & 2.  You can to post two reviews as well or just one cumulative review at the end of the read along.  If you don’t have a blog, you can leave your thoughts in the comments boxes :).

The Giveaway:

Yes, there will be a giveaway!!  Each comment/post on updates/discussions as well as each review will count as an entry.  At the end of the read along, I’ll pick the lucky winner(s)

The Button:

Here’s the button in three sizes (300×300, 250×250, & 200×200) if you’d like to copy and paste one to your posts and/or sidebars:

PilgrimsButton250

PilgrimsButtonSmall

Well, that about does it for now!  Let me know if you have any questions or suggestions :).  I will keep you posted with any updates or changes.

Y’all have a blessed day!

21 thoughts on “The Pilgrim’s Progress Reading Event Announcement

  1. I’m slowly reading this right now. Not far in yet. I won’t likely join the readalong, as I prefer to be independent and read as inspired. But just to say — yay. :)

  2. Pingback: Book Report: March 2013 | Maple & a Quill

  3. Pingback: 18th Century English Literature Event | unscripted

  4. I definitely need to read this, someday. I’m too overbooked this summer to get to it with you, but I wish you all the best of luck! I’ve added this to the Classics Club Event page and to our Goodreads bookshelf. :)

  5. This on my Classics Club list so I’m joining in. I’ll be on vacation for much of it so I’m not sure how active I’ll be in discussions but I will for sure read along and have a final post.

  6. Pingback: Popcorn & Purple Ink | 2013 Summer Bucket List

  7. I had signed up somewhere, maybe on Goodreads, but signing up here as well. I have 2 copies of this book, but will be reading this time from Oxford World Classic. I read through the intro and notes on the text etc. and am on page 11. This is the 2nd time for me to read this book, its been several years ago since the last time. Looking forward to it. I love the button, really lovely.

  8. Pingback: Comment on The Pilgrim’s Progress Reading Event Announcement by Annette | ChristianBookBarn.com

  9. Pingback: July Resolutions ‹ Popcorn & Purple Ink

Leave a Comment

