the waste land review//classics club

I’m not even sure what to say about this piece.  Halfway through, I checked the reviews on GoodReads and was surprised at the 5 star ratings.  I guess I shouldn’t have been surprised cause this is such a popular piece of American poetry…but still.  I figured I had to be the one with the problem.

CAUSE I COULDN’T MAKE HEADS OR TAILS OF THIS POEM!

34080

Maybe it was because I read it on my Kindle and that might have messed with the lines, the flow of which are, of course, hugely important.  Maybe it was too modern??  The imagery was lost on me.  It jumped around and went in weird directions.  I don’t know, I just was not feeling it at all!  Sorry Mr. Elliot, but if someone were to ask me what your great work was about, I’d have no idea how to answer!

Any of you T. S. Elliot fans out there have any comments as to what I was missing in my Waste Land experience?  I just was not impressed at all :(.

On a bit of a lighter note, this book was not only on my Classics Club list, it was apart of A Modern March, and also counted toward the Nerdy Non-Fiction Reading Challenge 2013!  3 birds, 1 stone.  Booyah!

4 thoughts on “the waste land review//classics club

  1. Pingback: Questions for the Book Lover #2 | unscripted

  2. It’s actually a British collection, not American, and was written after/during the First World War, when the idealism of the Industrial Revolution had been shattered by the realization that technology could be used to kill in mass. Eliot (and many of the era) were writing to the spirit of disillusionment that followed the shattering of humanity’s understanding of itself. I haven’t read this whole collection yet; I read “The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock,” which is a poem about a man’s sense that it is all meaningless — that he is meaningless. I am guessing that much of the collection offers a similar message.

  3. Oh, my bad. You are talking about “The Waste Land” specifically. My copy is The Waste Land & Other Poems. I haven’t read “The Waste Land” yet! But I still think it is a poem about disillusionment after the war. :)

Leave a Comment

