march meme//classics club

monthly meme button

It’s been a couple of months since I answered a Classics Club meme question! Let’s tackle this month’s shall we?

Do you love Jane Austen or want to “dig her up and beat her over the skull with her own shin-bone”? (Phrase borrowed from Mark Twain). 

1. Why? (for either answer).

2. Favorite and/or least favorite Austen novel?

 

The answer is simple: Yes, I love Jane Austen’s works.  I’m not sure why Mark Twain had such a bone to pick with her (pun so intended!) but I think she was quite a clever author and enjoy her work immensely!  I’m not even sure what’s not to like about Austen! She’s a literary giant! Whatever, I’m not even going to waste my time conjecturing over the minutiae of the tasteless.

Okay, okay, so I have a confession.  I’ve only read one of her novels, the rest I’ve either heard the dramatized radio production or seen the movies.  But the fact remains, I love Austen.  Just keepin’ it real!

My favorite Austen novel? I want to say Pride & Prejudice since I’ve only listened to BBC’s dramatized radio version and, of course, seen the movies, I’ll go with Persuasion.

Y’all have a blessed day :).

Leave a Comment

