word nerd

I’m not sure what sparked this, but I started putting together a list of words that sound good to my ear.  You know when there’s that one line in a song that’ll catch your attention and you turn it over and over again savoring the way it sounds, and feels?  Or maybe you just like the way a word looks on a page?  I don’t know, maybe that’s just me.  I like words! =)

Anyway, here’s a short list of random, unrelated words that for some reason or other catch my ear.

  • Farrago
  • Unmitigated    
  • Perfunctory
  • Cognizant
  • Assemblage
  • Wherewithal
  • Surreptitious 
  • Rambunctious
  • Indubitably
  • Kerfuffle
  • Serendipity
  • Cantankerous
  • Acquiesce 

Hehe!  Yes I’m a word nerd and proud of it!  This is by no means a complete list, just what I could think of off the top of my head.  Maybe there’ll be a part 2 when I think of more!!

If you like words as well then you just might be familiar with the radio show, A Way with Words hosted by Grant Barrett and Martha Barnette.  I super like this show! It’s a great program all about language, words, literature, and how we communicate.

url

If you have never heard of it, do check it out!!  You can subscribe to the podcast on iTunes or check out the website, A Way With Words to check local stations and times.

What are some of your favorite words?  You don’t have to have a particular reason other than they just sound cool to you!  Are you a word nerd?

Y’all have a blessed day =)

6 thoughts on “word nerd

  1. Yes! I love words! I’m guilty of knowing a few big ones and not always knowing what they mean though, so when I use them in casual conversation, sometimes people stop me- “Uhhh, I don’t think that means what you think it means.” ;)

    I have been highlighting some words in The Beautiful and Damned as I was reading it that were either unfamiliar or just sounded cool, so I will share a few with you now:

    Caroming
    Sophistic
    Indolence
    Quintessence
    Senescence
    Temerity
    Desultory
    Hyacinthine
    Inchoate
    Lugubrious
    Tenebrous
    Similitude
    Perspicacious

    :)

Leave a Comment

