you are a writer book review//nerdy non-fiction 2013

I mentioned in my Betsy-Tacy book review (below) that all I’ve been doing lately is study for school and read.  I haven’t read so much in one month in a very long time and it feels so good!  I just need to crank out the reviews while I can (I may get three done today!!).

So here’s my first completed title for the Nerdy Non-Fiction Challenge 2013 :).

I must say that so far, this book, by Jeff Goins, is probably my favorite!

url

After reading his Writer’s Manifesto (and you can read my thoughts on that here),  I knew I had to check out Jeff’s other books.  This was totally worth more than the $3 I spent in the Kindle bookstore!!  In this book, Jeff addresses the fears that writers have when starting out.  We don’t want to say we’re writers cause we haven’t been published yet or the few posts on our blog haven’t given us permission to assume that title.  We seek perfection and success first before we think ourselves worthy of such a bold statement as, “Hi, my name is Elyssa and I’m a writer.”

Jeff says to quit it.

You’re a writer, he says, you just have to write.

This makes sense when you consider the fact that feelings don’t have to determine one’s mood.  For example, I can choose to be in a good mood by putting a smile on my face and keeping my words positive.  Sooner or later, whatever negative feelings I had begin to dissolve and I begin to feel good and I’m in a positive mood!  The same can be said for writers.  Say you’re a writer.  Now act on it.  The more you act like a writer, the harder you work at your copy, the more intentional you are about making a name for yourself, little by little, the more skilled you become and the more you’ll be taken seriously by yourself and others.  It takes a lot of time but it’s worth it!

If you want to be a writer.  If you are an aspiring writer.  If you are a writer, (old habits!) then YOU NEED TO READ THIS BOOK!  I want to elaborate more but I don’t want to give the whole book away.  Just read it.  Seriously, go to Amazon now and download the ebook.  You won’t regret it.   It’s inspiring and practical.  It offers advice and writing tools as well as the necessary kick in the pants some of us need to get going!!  I loved it and will probably be referring back to it for the rest of my life!!

And If you haven’t yet, you can check out Jeff’s blog at Jeff Goins Writer. Sign up for his email list and you can get a free copy of his Writer’s Manifesto which I also highly recommend!!

Y’all have a blessed day =)

9 thoughts on “you are a writer book review//nerdy non-fiction 2013

    • I don’t remember anything that would be inappropriate for a younger reader however, I’d assume the reading level would be too advanced for a pre-teen (I say this, of course, without knowing your sister’s reading level!). The book is really geared for people who want writing to be more then just a hobby. If you think that your sister would benefit from that approach, by all means share it with her! He does cover some topics of a professional nature that she probably won’t be ready for, but hey, it’s never too early to start. I’d say read it for yourself and then decide if it’s information she can use. Let me know how you enjoyed the book when you finish it! :)

  1. Pingback: Questions for the Book Lover #2 | unscripted

  2. I met Jeff when he was a speaker at a blogger’s conference this year. I think he’s really honed in on a great platform for success. His writing is really good and he’s definately one of the premier resources for writers. He’s very generous with his advice as well. He had everyone practically chanting “I am a writer” at this conference. I get it, but I’m not sure I’m completely on board with that. Not that I already think I’ve arrived, or (on the flip side) don’t think I ever will. I do know that I am acting on my desire to write and I’m plugging away and don’t ever plan to stop; it just hasn’t been that much of a felt need to call myself a writer. That’s just me, though.

    • Lucky! I know what you mean though personally, it’s done me a lot of good to tell myself, “hey, I’m a writer!”. I don’t go around saying that when I meet people or anything, cause that’s not my profession but I do claim it, not only as part of who I want to become, but as what I am now, be it the writer of a blog, personal diary or book! Makes me happy :)

      • I see you are a Christian. You may be interested in the Declare Conference in Dallas. (Just Google) It’s a conference for Christian Women bloggers and its pretty awesome. I really like your blogs. I’ll bookmark if not follow. :)

Leave a Comment

