tbr 2013

2013tbrpilechallWriters and bookworms alike have stacks and lists of books they want and/or need to read but can never seem to tackle. Well, I happen to be one such writer/bookworm!  So this year, I’ve decided to join the 2013 TBR Pile Challenge, hosted by Adam at Roof Beam Reader.

The goal is to complete 12 books from your “To Be Read” list by the end of 2013. You can check out the official rules here. BUT HURRY!  The sign-up deadline is January 5th!  Adam has graciously extended the deadline due to the challenge’s popularity and the hustle and bustle of the holiday season!!

So here goes TBR 2013!!

  1. The Pilgrim’s Progress//John Bunyan
  2. The Count of Monte Cristo//Alexandre Dumas
  3. The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin
  4. The Narrative of Fredrick Douglass
  5. Of Thee I Zing//Laura Ingraham
  6. 1776//David McCullough
  7. Single Men are Like Waffles – Single Women are Like Spaghetti: Friendship, Romance, and Relationships that Work//Bill and Pam Ferrel
  8. The Narcissism Epidemic: Living in the Age of Entitlement//Jean M. Twenge & W. Keith Campbell
  9. Freakonomics: A Rogue Economist Explores the Hidden Side of Everything//Steven D. Levitt & Stephen J. Dubner
  10. The Dumbest Generation: How the Digital Age Stupefies Young Americans and Jeopardizes Our Future(Or, Don’t Trust Anyone Under 30)//Mark Bauerlein
  11. A Return to Modesty: Discovering the Lost Virtue//Wendy Shalit
  12. Generation Me: Why Today’s Young Americans Are More Confident, Assertive, Entitled–and More Miserable Than Ever Before//Jean M. Twenge

Alternates:

  1. Redeeming Love//Francis Rivers
  2. Teen 2.0//Robert Epstein

What do you plan to read this year?

10 thoughts on “tbr 2013

  1. I didn’t sign up in time but thatttt’s okay. haha. I’m still going to read this year! I also confidently started making various blogs for various life things and I’m sure by the end of the year, I won’t have done as much with them as I would’ve liked! :P

    I will probably be stealing some of your titles to read this year too, just not for any official list. Being able to see what you read on Goodreads is cool too. I appreciate taking a peek into my Christian friend’s reading lists to snag some for myself.

    Question: How did you post your 2013 book goal tracker thing in your sidebar on your main page? I’m trying to figure that out. What am I missing?

    You have a great New Year as well, btw!

    • Be my guest! That’s what reading lists are for: sharing!!

      You mean the Goodreads reading challenge widget? If you go to ‘My Books’ and on the lefthand sidebar, near the bottom, under ‘tools’, you’ll find ‘widgets’. There are many different ones including the one for 2013 Reading Challenge. You can grab the html from there. I don’t know if it’s supposed to self update or not when you’ve finished a book, but it doesn’t for me. Every time I finish a book, I have to reload the html myself =P. Not quite labor intensive but kind of inconvenient! Hope that helps!! =)

  2. Pingback: the wheel has spun! | unscripted

Leave a Comment

