off the cuff

I might regret this later on but for now, well, I don’t even know how to respond to what I just did.

I just joined NaNoWriMo.  That’s right, I’m going to attempt a novel in a month.

Baha!  Somewhere in my brain there’s a flashing, neon sign that says, WHAT WERE YOU THINKING?  My thoughts at that moment are a bit vague.  I suppose I can chalk it up to my own crazy version of YOLO (as much as I hate trendy, abbreviated catch phrases, or whatever you call these things!).  I mean, I will always be busy!  I will always have something else to do.  But I won’t be young forever and I can’t let life pass me by without enjoying and exploring and creating.  As I quickly browsed the National Novel Writing Month website, I was transported back to bygone days when I’d sit with a pen and a spiral-bound and write and write and write.

I craved it.  Oh, how I craved it!!  Maybe it was the breeze that’s wafting through my open window that transported me back to sunny, carefree, childhood days.  I don’t know.

I just signed up.

I already know I’m not going to reach the 50K word count.  I just want to see if I still have it in me. The ability to create and put dreams and ideas into words.  I haven’t done that in such a long time…

I will keep ya’ll posted!

Meanwhile, I’m already 6 days behind schedule!!

2 thoughts on “off the cuff

  1. Woohoo! You go, girl! Put the rest of us writers to shame! I don’t have the guts to do Nanowrimo this month, but I wish YOU the best…and anticipate hearing how it works out for you. :) Praying for ya!

Leave a Comment

